The Dance

We met through the whispers of conversations,

 the fascinations of finding through the silent pauses. 

 Our fingers laced, then traced each other’s lines,

 the fine language of believing 

we were meant for this moment spent receiving

 signs without speech.  I reached out and tickled your arm

 in a charming sense while you trailed your breath up to my neck. 

 I expected you to linger but we were pulled apart 

and my heart broke with the snapping out of my daydreaming, 

seeming to push flat against the wall.

  I don’t know what happened at all 

but a small voice moistened my ear 

and then it was so clear that we were once again near to the other. 

 The surge of the crowd pulled us away 

but you stayed like a lifeguard,

 a hard wall pushing back and back

 until the waving attack of people ebbed. 

 We met in the web of unhurried trappings, 

stuck in the wrappings of one another beside the gym wall.

  I held your hand again then

 when the others were gone to the dance floor.

  I wanted more.  I wanted to explore

 this the heartbeating, the repeating inside in a wild pulsation. 

 Conversation drifted as you first lifted

 your own voice to mine. 

 We found the time, a connection

 that brought us crushed together,

 the storming surf pushed us to the middle of the floor.

  Slow music began for a girl and boy 

wishing woman and man

Holding, folding into each one, 

 hands done in the softness of the shallows

 that pushed against our feet.  

An island, two that stand, and a sweet retreat up a stairway 

and all I thought was yes, this is then heaven.

Leave a comment